Group Members

Alexander Schliep

Head
office: Chalmers D&IT 5481
phone: +46-76-608 69 63
e-mail: alexander@schlieplab.org

Joel Gustafsson

Doctoral Student (since 2019)
Joint Ph.D. student with Peter Norberg (Virology, Sahlgrenska) funded by FORMAS.
e-mail: me@joelgustafsson.com

Shirin Tavara

Doctoral Student (since 2017)
office: Chalmers D&IT 6476
e-mail: tavara@chalmers.se

Simon Johansson

Doctoral Student (since 2019)
Industrial PhD student with AstraZeneca (supervisor: Ola Engkvist) funded by WASP-AS.
office: Chalmers D&IT 6449
e-mail: simon.johansson@astrazeneca.com

Tobias Johansson

Doctoral Student (since 2019)
Industrial Ph.D. student with Volvo Cars (supervisor: Anders Ödblom) funded by Volvo.
office: Chalmers D&IT 6447
e-mail: tobias.johansson@volvocars.com

Former Ph.D. students

John Wiedenhoeft

Doctoral Student (2011–2018)
e-mail: john.wiedenhoeft@chalmers.se

Ph.D. in Computer Science, Rutgers, Sept. 2018.
Since 2019: Research Associate, Core Facility, Medical Biometry and Statistical Bioinformatics, Universitätsmedizin Göttingen

Rajat S Roy

Doctoral Student (2010–2014)
e-mail: rajatroy@cs.rutgers.edu

Ph.D. in Computer Science, Rutgers, July 2014.
Now: Senior Bioinformatics Scientist with Illumina, Inc. (San Diego, CA)

Md P. Mahmud

Doctoral Student (2010–2014)
e-mail: pavelm@cs.rutgers.edu

Ph.D. in Computer Science, Rutgers, May 2014.
Now: Senior software engineer, Google, Inc.

Ivani de Oliveira Negrão Lopes

Doctoral Student (2012–2014)
e-mail: ivani.negrao@embrapa.br

Ph.D. in Computer Science, University of Sao Paulo, Brasil, June 2014. Principal advisor: Prof. Dr. Andre de Carvalho.
Now: researcher at Embrapa.

Ruben B. Schilling

Doctoral Student (2007–2009)
e-mail: ruben.schilling@molgen.mpg.de

PhD studies 2007–09; Diplom CS, Universität Freiburg (main supervisor: Prof. Dr.-Ing. Hans Burkhardt) 2007.
Now Technischer Produktmanager @ Digitale Schiene Deutschland.

Benjamin Georgi

Doctoral Student (2005–2009)
e-mail: georgi@molgen.mpg.de

Ph.D. Bioinformatics, June 2009, Freie Universität Berlin; MSc (2005) and B.Sc. (2003) Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin.
Now: Associate Principal Scientist, AstraZeneca

Wasinee Rungsarityotin

Doctoral Student (2004–2007)
e-mail: rungsari@molgen.mpg.de

Ph.D. Bioinformatics, Nov. 2007, Freie Universität Berlin.
Now at Valuephone Gmbh.

Other Alumni and Visitors

Jan Qvick

M.Sc. Student (2019–2020)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2020). Joint project with Peter Norberg (Virology, Sahlgrenska).

Daniel Brunnsåker

M.Sc. Student (2019–2020)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science, Chalmers (2020). Joint project with Johanna Sagemark and Bino John (AstraZeneca).

Sharan Sabi

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2019) with Ellinor Rånge (Ericsson).

Sebastian Norlin

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2019). Joint project with Peter Norberg (Virology, Sahlgrenska).

Gabriel Alpsten

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2019) with Ellinor Rånge (Ericsson).

Sören Richard Stahlschmidt

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc in Applied Data Science, University of Gothenburg (2019). Joint project with Maria Luisa Guerriero (AstraZeneca).

Natalia Jurczynska

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc in Applied Data Science, University of Gothenburg (2019). Joint project with Volvo Car Group.

Arnaud Moulis

M.Sc. Student (2019)
e-mail:

MSc in Applied Data Science, University of Gothenburg (2019). Joint project with Emotra AB.

Calle Ekdahl

Research Assistant (2017–2018)
e-mail: callee@student.chalmers.se

Project Assistant on Vinnova FFI Grant: BADA-SEMPA.
Now: developer with Smart Eye.

John Martinsson

Research Assistant (2017–2018)
e-mail: mjohn@chalmers.se

Project Assistant on Vinnova FFI Grant: BADA-SEMPA; MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2017).
Now: Machine learning researcher at RISE AI (Gothenburg, Sweden)

Erik Norlander

M.Sc. Student (2018)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2018). Joint project with Peter Norberg (Virology, Sahlgrenska).

Björn Hedström

M.Sc. Student (2018)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2018). Joint project with Peter Damaschke (CSE, Chalmers).

Ivar Josefsson

M.Sc. Student (2018)
e-mail:

MSc in Computer Science (MPALG), Chalmers (2018). Joint project with Peter Damaschke (CSE, Chalmers)

Edvin Listo Zec

M.Sc. Student (2017)
e-mail:

MSc Engineering Mathematics and Computational Science, Chalmers (2017) with Nasser Mohammadiha, Volvo Car Group.
Now: Machine learning researcher at RISE AI (Gothenburg, Sweden)

Scott Merkling

Research Assistant (2012–2016)
e-mail: sbmerkling@gmail.com

Now: Software Engineer at Twitch

Eric J Brugel

Research Assistant (2013–2015)
e-mail: ejb177@scarletmail.rutgers.edu

Daniel Z Kaplan

Research Assistant (2013)
e-mail: danzk87@eden.rutgers.edu

Jonathan Shao

Undergraduate Student (2012–2013)
e-mail: jonshao@eden.rutgers.edu

Theresa Lye

Undergraduate Student (2012)
e-mail: tlye@eden.rutgers.edu

DIMACS REU Summer student 2011
Now a Ph.D. student at Columbia University

Alice Paul

Undergraduate Student (2011)
e-mail: alicejpaul@gmail.com

DIMACS REU Summer student 2011
Now an Assistant Professor of Applied Mathematics and Computer Science at Olin College of Engineering https://alicepaul.github.io/

Carolyn Keenan

Undergraduate Student (2010)
e-mail: carolyn.keenan@gmail.com

DIMACS REU Summer student 2010

Matthew R. Mitsui

Undergraduate Student (2010)
e-mail: mmitsui@eden.rutgers.edu

Now: Postdoctoral Associate at InfoSeeking

Christoph Hafemeister

Research Assistant (2006–2009)
e-mail: hafemeis@molgen.mpg.de

M.Sc. Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin, 2008.
Now: Postdoctoral research associate at the New York Genome Center.

Janne Grunau

Research Assistant (2005–2008)
e-mail: grunau@molgen.mpg.de

B.Sc. Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin, 2005.

Paul Piwowarczyk

M.Sc. Student (2008)
e-mail: paulpiwowarczyk@googlemail.com

Diplom Bioinformatik, FH Oldenburg

Jian Li

B.Sc. Student (2007)
e-mail: jli@inf.fu-berlin.de

Internship and B.Sc. Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin, 2007

Marco Rügen

B.Sc. Student (2007)
e-mail: m.ruegen@gmx.de

B.Sc. Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin 2007.
Now bioinformatics researcher at Humboldt University

Michael Turewicz

M.Sc. Student (2006–2007)
e-mail: miantur@web.de

Diplom Bioinformatics 2007, MLU Halle
Now group leader for Computational Quantitative Proteomics, Ruhr-Universität Bochum.

Lennart Opitz

M.Sc. Student (2006)
e-mail: lopitz@uni-goettingen.de

Diplom Bioinformatics 2006, MLU Halle (jointly with Stefan Posch, Halle)
Now: Spe­cial­ist Gen­ome In­form­at­ics, Functional Genomics Center Zurich, ETH Zurich

Alexander Riemer

B.Sc. Student (2005)
e-mail: riemer@zib.de

B.Sc. Bioinformatics, FU Berlin 2005
Ph.D. student at TU Braunschweig.

Jonas Heise

Research Assistant (2003–2005)
e-mail: heise@molgen.mpg.de

B.Sc. Bioinformatics, Freie Universität Berlin, 2004.

Ben Rich

Research Assistant (2003–2004)
e-mail: rich@molgen.mpg.de

Harindar Keer

Staff (2002–2003)
e-mail: hkeer@uci.edu

Now: founder of flixstock.com.

Andrea Weisse

B.Sc. Student (2003)
e-mail: andrea.weisse@nuim.ie

Internship and B.Sc. Bioinformatics 2003, Freie Univesität Berlin
Now: Research associate, Faculty of Medicine, Department of Infectious Disease, Imperial College.